Nursing License Reactivation In Oregon
Do you need to consult with an attorney regarding your nursing license or other professional licensing matter? Call (530) 232-9280 to schedule a free consultation with a nurses attorney.
Getting a nursing license in Oregon is no easy feat! You have to graduate from an approved nursing program and sit for the National Council Licensing Examination (NCLEX). If you have been licensed in another state and have passed an LPN or RN State Board Testing Pool Examination (SBTPE), you still need to get an endorsement from the Oregon State Board of Nursing (OSBN).
Before granting a license, the OSBN conducts a criminal background check on every nurse, and renewal applications are also checked through the Law Enforcement Data System (LEDS).
Once you have your Oregon nursing license, it’s vital that you keep it active. Practicing on an expired license can have serious consequences.
Nursing Licenses In Oregon Expire The Day Before Your Birthday
In Oregon, nursing licenses and certificates are good for two years. They expire at midnight the day before your birthday, and you can renew them up to 90 days before they expire. The OSBN sends a reminder at the 90-day, 60-day, and 15-day marks before your nursing license expires, but they also make it clear that these are courtesy notifications. It’s your responsibility to make sure that your nursing license is active.
Requirements For Renewal Of A Nursing License
To renew an LPN license or RN license in Oregon, you are required to have practiced nursing for at least 960 hours in the previous five years, completed an approved re-entry program in the previous two years, or graduated from an approved nursing program within the past five years. You also need to have completed at least 7 hours of continuing education in pain management (this is a one-time requirement).
Nursing License Renewals That Are 60 Days Or Less Past Expiration
If your nursing license expires, you’re allowed to renew it within 60 days of the expiration date, but you’ll have to pay a $100 late fee. Also, it’s critical to understand that you can’t practice nursing in Oregon without a current license or certificate, and the OSBN could fine you up to $5,000 if you do.
Nursing License Renewals That Are 61 Days Or More Past Expiration
Nursing license renewals that are 61 days or more past the expiration date become “reactivations” and have different forms, requirements, and additional fees. For example, with a reactivation, your background will be checked through LEDS and a national fingerprint-based criminal records check.
If a complaint has been filed against you for practicing nursing without a license, please contact us immediately. We provide a full range of services for nursing license defense and can help nurses in Oregon, Washington, and Texas.
Please make note: Kevin Keaney has more than 30 years of experience as an attorney. Prior to becoming a lawyer, Kevin earned his BSN and spent four years as a practicing nurse. Our law firm is based in Portland, Oregon.
Kevin Keaney is an attorney who helps nurses defend their license in Texas, as well as Oregon and Washington.